jump to navigation

Home September 28, 2006

Posted by silentEcho in moron's Diary.
trackback

“All of life is a coming home. Salesmen, secretaries, coal miners, beekeepers, sword swallowers, all of us. All the restless hearts of the world, all trying to find a way home.”

These are the starting lines of the movie Patch Adams which, although largely slapstick in terms of humor by itself, triggered a concept in hindi cinema. We know that concept by the name Munnabhai. Anyway, this post is certainly not relared to Munna. I saw this movie long ago and was captured by the first lines. Robin Williams says these lines in the movie. He plays Patch.

How true! I mean fine, not everybody may want to go home but look at it in terms of defining home. Everyone needs a break once a while and that break is what home is. Elsewhere ( actually just a few lines after ) Patch says:

“Home. The dictionary defines it as both a place of origin and a goal or destination.”

That’s what I intend to say. In the workplace there might be times when you think you are reaching out somewhere only to realise later that you’re walking in circles. The mind becomes highly fucked up in such situations. Home, home helps. It might be a very good idea to find home in that case. Here at my place I usually go off to places that I call Solace Points. Places where I can think about myself and come to terms with myself.

Fine! But as far as Home physically is concerned, there’s nothing like it. With midsem recess just a day away, the very feeling of going back is so soothing. Every time I go back home, something happens. Something wwith the element of adventure in it ( let’s leave my grandfather’s demise from this ). For example last time it was car driving, chapati making and videography. This time I can’t imagine what sorts of things we will do together. In my first vacations I had landed in kitchen to try making some tea. I had ended up putting salt in the tea and some fire on the hair at the back of my hand. If that’s not enough, last time during videography I had an ordeal with my old friends: monkeys!

I wonder why I didn’t put these things up on the blog. So next up on this space might be my special recipe for Tea or 101 ways to find 1 way for escaping monkeys.

Off to my assignment now. Have a Senate meeting tonite. So more mosquitoes. But that’s no reason not to go to the conference room brawl.

Will be back sooner than the nonexistent reader expects,

moron

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

