jump to navigation

Su May 20, 2006

Posted by silentEcho in Stories.
trackback

NOTE : This story cropped up in my mind when I met a beautiful lady. It didn't hit me at that time that the story bears too much resemblance with the story of an Indian movie. Anyway here is the story for you to read.

_____________________________________________________________________

It had been a long time since they had met. The class of '95 still remebered them as the most intimate and real couple of the institute. In the days at the institute they used to be together most of the time.

The relationship had begun with him giving her a chocolate at the Fresher's Party only to find out later that they were in the same class. Days went on and the relationship grew strong. They became inseparable and indispensable for each other. Most people believed that they would continue as life partners once they graduated but not all goes expected in life and not every couple is the 'and-they-lived-happily-everafter' couple. Their trails separated at the convocation only to cross ten years later at the reunion of class of '95.

Things changed. Most people were now parents of noisy five, six or seven year old kids. He was standing in a corner with some friends, chatting over drinks. His eyes were wandering, searching the long lost soulmate when he saw the glitter of her deep blue eyes. A rendezvous was due.

They had the usual small talk and then the matters came to what they were destined to.

"Do you still love me?" she asked.

"Do you think that?All I know is that I have learnt to live without you." It was painful to see the blue of her eyes liquify but for some reason he was enjoying her pain. They talked on.

"I tried to move on but couldn't forget you. All these years, they have been hell," she said.

"You wouldn't have needed to move on but…"

"What could I have done? Was there a way?" she said and continued, "Is there a way?" 

"I am married," he said.

"You are. Hmmm," she paused for a moment. He looked at her and could see the pain she was undergoing. A feeling of envy and remorse inside her heart. He was having a strange satisfaction in seeing her in this state. "What is she like?"

"Oh she is nice, very nice. She is like an angel."

"She is not me though," she said as if to make him realise what she has meant to him once.

"I love her and I am leading a good life. We are a happy little family. Me, her and our daughter."

"You don't know how much I regret this," she said. This time the tears didn't stop. " I miss you."

"See, it's no use talking about relations and things that are dead for years now," he couldn't help hurting her.

"You have a daughter?" "I think I just told you that. There she is," he pointed to a beautiful seven year old kid dressed in pink. "She's just like her," he said and began describing how the kid resembled her mother. She listened, standing there with mixed feelings on envy and love towards the girl.

She looked at him. He had stopped speaking. No more words.

"What's her name?"
By now his eyes were moist and this time he couldn't speak anything to hurt her. It was hard to contain the love. He took her hand in his, a serene smile on his face.

"Do I need to tell you?"

She rubbed off the tears from both the faces, smiled and called the pretty in pink : "Su!"

Comments»

1. Nikhil Mahant - June 28, 2006

Well,
he last time I read it, this su was a well-understandable name, this time it has shrunk to su.
The story has pushed me into further confusion over what love actually is; the idea has recurred in the writings plays and movies of many artists and in each of them one can very easily point out that alternative concepts of love arise. I am not very confident of the element of ‘love’ in the story but words suggest the matter is not too far from it; and hence presents{though not for the first time} a new hazier perception of relationships.

2. wisemoron - June 28, 2006

Yeah I changed the name. Merely because I didn’t want the inspiration behind this to get any ideas though I have foolishly left too much scope for that in my other blog. I like it this way…hazy. Details are good yeah many times but many times they are vulgar. Okay no more Oscar Wilde.
Thanks for giving thought.


Leave a Reply

